How to Get the Google Weather app on an Android Device – Guide

I am a weather junkie in the sense that I find it easier to check the weather forecast on my phone than looking out the window. And I do this several times a day, especially in winter. And as a weather junkie, I need very accurate weather data and a really reliable weather forecast. Also, I hate weather apps that ask too many permissions or show too many ads and eat up your battery. In my search for the perfect weather app, I learned what is free, ad-free, and what is reliable, and on Android this is the Google Weather widget. I say widget because it’s not really a full-featured app that you can download from the Google Play Store. And while it’s built into the Google search widget on most phones, I really prefer to have an icon on mine. home screen which I know is always there and I can press and get the full forecast. So if the Weather app on your Android phone not good enough… how do you replace it with the google weather widget? AND how to easily reach google weather widget app icon on your android phone home screen? It’s super easy and I’ll walk you through the process in a few simple steps.

OK Google, how’s the weather?’

Open the Google app or trigger your Google Assistant with a long press on the home button, say “OK Google” or press the microphone icon to activate voice search (if not already listening). Then say something like “show me the weather” or “how’s the weather in [specific area]” etc. You can also type “time” in the search bar, but come on, this is kind of boring. You should see the pop-up of weather on a results page. On the map that appears, tap the current temperature.

Add the weather to your Home Screen

Now all you have to do is tap on the hamburger menu in the upper left corner of the screen. In the Weather section you will see the option to toggle between Fahrenheit and Celsius and below that an option to add weather to your home screen. Go ahead and tap on it, then the weather app will be added to your home screen. You can place the shortcut wherever you want and it will always open for your local forecast. The only downside here is that the app icon needs to stay on your home screen if you want easy access to it. ‘Cause it’s just a shortcut to a feature in the larger google app you can’t put the weather icon in the app drawer. Just long press an empty spot on your home screen, select “Widgets” and then “Google”. You will see four options – press and hold the At a Glance widget and drag it to your home screen. This will give you a widget with today’s date and any upcoming events in your Google calendar, and the weather to the right of it. Tapping the weather icon in this widget opens the same weather applet.

Final note

I hope you like the guide How to Get the Google Weather app on an Android Device. In case if you have any query regards this article you may ask us. Also, please share your love by sharing this article with your friends.