Guide: Disable Find My iPhone: Tips and Tutorial

The Find My iPhone feature is there to help you find it phone if it is lost or stolen. In an emergency it can be a real life saver. You can also erase your data with it, should your smartphone end up in the wrong hands. But some users find this feature redundant. If you’re one of them, it’s super easy to turn it off and there are a few ways to do it.

Turn off Find My iPhone

Turning it off feature basically means removing the device from your iCloud account. The same method also applies to iPads, and it only takes a few steps. Note: Signing out of the Find My iPhone app is not enough. Your device will still be tracked until you remove the option from your settings.

iPhone / iPad method

Step 1

Launch the Settings app and select the menu under your name to access more options.

Swipe down and tap your phone name to open Find My iPhone settings.

Step 2

Select the Find My iPhone menu at the top of the screen and toggle it button in the window that pops up up.

Once you tap the switch, a new popup will appearup is displayed and you are asked to enter your Apple ID password. Enter the password and select Disable to confirm.

You receive an email that Find My iPhone has been disabled on your device. You can always double-check this by launching the Find My iPhone app.

An option to consider

There is a final send location feature directly under Find My iPhone (in the Device Info menu).

It is disabled by default. But you may want to enable it because it sends location data to Apple when your battery is low. Some users feel that this is an invasion of privacy. But the information can prove to be extremely valuable after you submit your phone is nowhere to be found.

An alternative path

To turn off Find My Phone, you can also tap iCloud (in the Apple ID window), swipe down and select Find My iPhone.

From then on, the steps are as previously described. Tap on it button to turn it off, enter your Apple ID password and hit Turn Off to confirm.

Can you turn off Find My iPhone from a browser?

On your computer, you can quickly log into iCloud, your phone, or change some basic settings. However, you cannot permanently turn off Find My iPhone. Once in the iCloud, tap the settings icon and select your iPhone under My Devices. The doll-up window shows all connected devices and there is a small “x” icon when you press your phone. you can your phone by clicking the icon, but it reappears once it connects to the Internet.

Turn off Find My Mac

Apart from your iPhone, you can also turn on / off location services for other Apple devices including iMacs and MacBooks. The whole process is quite simple and you don’t need to be tech-savvy to do it. Launch System Preferences on your Mac and select iCloud. Scroll through the iCloud menu and uncheck the box for Find My Mac.

You will be asked to provide your Apple ID password. After you enter and confirm the password, the Mac will disappear from the grid.

An extra Tip

You can also turn off location services completely on your Mac. Navigate to Security & Privacy from System Preferences and select Location Services in the top left. Click the little padlock at the bottom of the window to allow changes, then enter the unlock password for your Mac.

Uncheck the Enable Location Services box and don’t forget to click the padlock back to lock the settings again.

Find My iPhone – Useful Features

As you already know, this option provides a surprisingly accurate location of your phone. But it also comes with a few other useful actions. For example, you can play a sound every phone. Your phone is also an option – this is similar to performing a factory reset and it will erase all data from your iPhone. If you are not making backups, you should only use it if you are sure that the phone has disappeared forever.

Convenience first, security second

Suppose you’re not concerned that Apple could misuse your location data, why would you want to turn off Find My iPhone? For example, you should do this if you decide to give away and sell your iPhone. The new user will probably want to connect it to their iCloud, and he can’t do it unless you turn the device off.

Disable Find My iPhone: Tips and Tutorial: benefits

Faq

Final note

I hope you like the guide Disable Find My iPhone: Tips and Tutorial. In case if you have any query regards this article you may ask us. Also, please share your love by sharing this article with your friends. For our visitors: If you have any queries regards the Disable Find My iPhone: Tips and Tutorial, then please ask us through the comment section below or directly contact us. Education: This guide or tutorial is just for educational purposes. Misinformation: If you want to correct any misinformation about the guide “Disable Find My iPhone: Tips and Tutorial”, then kindly contact us. Want to add an alternate method: If anyone wants to add more methods to the guide Disable Find My iPhone: Tips and Tutorial, then kindly contact us. Our Contact: Kindly use our contact page regards any help. You may also use our social and accounts by following us on Whatsapp, Facebook, and Twitter for your questions. We always love to help you. We answer your questions within 24-48 hours (Weekend off). Channel: If you want the latest software updates and discussion about any software in your pocket, then here is our Telegram channel.

Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 95Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 96Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 21Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 23Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 99Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 51Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 93Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 47Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 58Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 90Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 77Disable Find My iPhone  Tips and Tutorial  2022    Compsmag - 12